top of page

India Announces 15-Player Squad for 2023 Cricket World Cup

India's squad for the highly anticipated 2023 Cricket World Cup has been officially confirmed by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI). The announcement, made on Tuesday, comes just ahead of the World Cup opener scheduled between India and Australia in Chennai on October 8.

One of the standout inclusions in the 15-member squad is KL Rahul, who has been declared fit to participate in the tournament. His return to the lineup is seen as a significant boost for India's chances in the World Cup.

The Full Squad:

  1. Rohit Sharma (c)

  2. Shubman Gill

  3. Virat Kohli

  4. Shreyas Iyer

  5. Ishan Kishan

  6. Suryakumar Yadav

  7. KL Rahul

  8. Hardik Pandya (vc)

  9. Jasprit Bumrah

  10. Ravindra Jadeja

  11. Shardul Thakur

  12. Axar Patel

  13. Kuldeep Yadav

  14. Mohammed Shami

  15. Mohammed Siraj

Ajit Agarkar, speaking about KL Rahul's inclusion, stated, "There were a couple of fitness issues we had but all three players have come back, KL is looking good. We feel this squad gives us the best balance for this World Cup. KL looked really good there but picked up a niggle just before the Asia Cup. He has gotten over it. He is an important player for us and we are happy to have him."

India's captain, Rohit Sharma, expressed his confidence in Hardik Pandya, emphasizing his importance to the team. "Hardik Pandya is a complete package, his form will be crucial for us at the World Cup. We have picked the best possible combination. We have depth in batting, we have spin and other bowling options."

Teams have until September 28 to make any changes to their World Cup squads, with any alterations beyond this date subject to approval from the International Cricket Council (ICC). The selected Indian squad is geared up and ready to compete on the global stage, with their eyes set on the coveted Cricket World Cup trophy.

5 views0 comments
bottom of page