top of page

Portugal announce their 26 men squad for Qatar world cup 2022

Selecao boss Fernando Santos announced his 26-man selection on Thursday afternoon, with Portugal looking forward to matches in Group H against Ghana, Uruguay and South Korea, starting from 24 November.

For Ronaldo, it's a fifth World Cup, an achievement matched by only four players previously and probably his last chance of ever winning the world cup.

Antonio Carbajal, Rafael Marquez (both Mexico) and Germany's Lothar Matthaus all played at a quintet of tournaments, while legendary Italy goalkeeper Gianluigi Buffon was an unused substitute in 1998, before featuring at the 2002, 2006, 2010 and 2014 finals.

Picture: Kumaon Jagran
Portugal 26 men team announced for Qatar 2022

Goalkeepers: Diogo Costa (FC Porto), Jose Sa (Wolverhampton Wanderers FC), Rui Patricio (AS Roma).

Defenders: Diogo Dalot (Manchester United), Joao Cancelo (Manchester City), Danilo Pereira (Paris St Germain), Pepe (FC Porto), Ruben Dias (Manchester City), Antonio Silva (SL Benfica), Nuno Mendes (Paris St Germain), Raphael Guerreiro (Borussia Dortmund).

Midfielders: Joao Palhinha (Fulham FC), Ruben Neves (Wolverhampton Wanderers), Bernardo Silva (Manchester City), Bruno Fernandes (Manchester United), Joao Mario (SL Benfica), Matheus Nunes (Wolverhampton Wanderers FC), Vitinha (Paris St Germain), William Carvalho (Real Betis), Otavio (FC Porto).

Forwards: Cristiano Ronaldo (Manchester United), Joao Felix (Atletico Madrid), Rafael Leao (AC Milan), Ricardo Horta (SC Braga), Goncalo Ramos (FC Benfica), Andre Silva (RB Leipzig).

29 views0 comments
bottom of page