top of page

Twelve Opposition Parties to Attend Concluding Function of Bharat Jodo Yatra on Monday in Srinagar

Twelve opposition parties will attend the concluding function of Bharat Jodo Yatra on Monday, despite some parties declining the invitation due to security concerns.

Picture: Kumaon Jagran
Rahul Gandhi in Kashmir

Parties including the Trinamool Congress, Samajwadi Party, and TDP will not attend the event, while the Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (DMK), Nationalist Congress Party (NCP), Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD), Janata Dal (United), Shiv Sena, CPI(M), CPI, Viduthalai Chiruthaigal Katchi (VCK), Kerala Congress, Jammu & Kashmir National Conference, Jammu and Kashmir People's Democratic Party (PDP), and Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM) will participate in the function in Srinagar.

Congress General Secretary Priyanka Gandhi Vadra and PDP chief Mehbooba Mufti also joined the yatra on Saturday. The local police have denied any security lapses during the yatra, but Congress President Mallikarjun Kharge wrote a letter to Union Home Minister Amit Shah regarding an alleged security breach on January 27 and requested his intervention in ensuring adequate security for the event.

The Kanyakumari to Kashmir yatra, which began on September 7, will end on January 30 in Srinagar after covering 3,970 km and passing through 12 states and two Union territories over 145 days.

7 views0 comments
bottom of page